Who the hell is Shane Jesse Christmass?

So here it is, Merry Christmass.  Sorry. I couldn’t help myself. Anyhoo, ‘Mass Graves Found At Camp David’ by Shane Jesse Christmass will be appearing in our new collection Life During Wartime, aka TRUMP 2016. And he is appearing right here, right now on this very web page.

Who the hell are you? I am Shane Jesse Christmass. A writer and musician.

I have nothing to declare but my genius and ROLEX Zine. ROLEX is a zine project. The project will comprise 50 issues published over an undetermined period. The undetermined period could be a year, five years, ten years, or a quarter of a century. At this stage, the preference is for a longer period of completion.

The project will consist of new, unpublished stories. Stories written specifically for ROLEX. The stories, over the course of the 50 issues, may feature the same characters; however, each story’s narrative will be disconnected from each other. At the end of the 50 issues, they may be read as a whole. That is the experiment, but that is not the over-arching goal.

So far there have been two issues. They have been B&W / photocopied / cost $2.00 / consisting of eight odd pages or thereabouts. All words & images have been by myself.

Why the hell should we care? Because ROLEX Zine was conceived as I fell asleep in a sleeping bag during the day / midday and dreamt of money to buy cheeseburgers.

What the hell do you care about? Strange worlds. Creating strange worlds where something’s up, something’s fishy. Where the people are slippery, like decayed oysters in a toy chest of corn. Why? Because the people look like the membranes and arteries that are picked out from my bladebone. Creating strange worlds through music.

If ROLEX Zine was a song, a person, or a place, what/who would it be? And why? I’ve recently been taken aback by the song ‘Echo’ by Dave Burrell. It seems to be the musical standard for what I want ROLEX to be. The same type of dislocation, resonance, repetition, relentless, overpowering. A diamond reef.

I have seen the future of literature and its name is Simon Sellars. Some of you may know his work through the ‘Ballardian’ website. He’s writing a novel. His first I believe. But he’s well-accomplished in a variety of other areas. Architecture. Music. I have high hopes, moreso high expectations for the book. I expect, probably not the right word, I assume it’s going to be this glorious screed of Ballard, Martin Bax, Cronenberg, Brion Gysin, Burroughs, body horror, new wave sci-fi, just real cool shit that I could lap up in a heartbeat.

What is next for you? Quite a few things. I’ll try and keep it brief. A chapbook is coming out, a bunch of poems based on myself and Scott Disick hanging out at the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York. A few novel manuscripts that are completed. Currently writing a novel based on a screenplay I wrote a few years ago. Nothing happened with the screenplay, but the story was too thrilling to let sit, so working it into a novel. Some more music activity, my band ‘Snake Milker’ is constantly recording.

Tell us a secret. I’m currently living in an automobile.


photo 4More Shane Jesse

Shane Jesse Christmass is the author of Acid Shottas. He can also be found on Twitter and Tumblr.

 


Leave a Reply

