Who the hell is Sade Andria Zabala?

Sade Andria Zabala is a poet, a surfer, and says her writing is like Kim Kardassian. Now read on … dot … dot … dot …

TinyWarSongsOK, Sade, so who the hell are you? I am the place lost people go to pretend to be found. Come find me.

I have nothing to declare but my genius and … ? the War Songs you sing to yourself when you cannot find a reason to get out of bed.

Why the hell should we care? I am an excuse for you to say his name. The voice in the back of your head telling you whether or not you are good enough. I am half-girl, half-god, and we will set the world aflame. (Also my face is pretty.)

What the hell do you care about? I care about not caring about anything.

Unless it’s actually relevant. Because why do we care about the wrong things? For instance, there is this social stigma attached to feminism and “narcissistic bad girls” since society likes telling us what to do and “modest” is the definition of beauty. Lots of people have a habit of getting pissed about issues that don’t benefit or affect them. Like there are homeless people, human trafficking, global warming, terrorism, and you care about my tits or my clothes showing “too much skin” or my choice of words, opinions, and actions offending you? Get out. Pet a dog, volunteer, clean the environment – anything. Do some actual good for your community. Stop telling women how to behave so you can fake-feel good about yourself.

The world is lacking in a bit of self-love, and us girls need to practice that more. Do not be afraid to breathe fire. Do not be afraid of your body. Do not be afraid to say sex. Do not be afraid to say NO (and mean it). Do not be afraid to spit in their face when they touch you when you do not want to be touched. Do no harm, but absolutely take no one’s bullshit.

So this is me, middle finger in the air. This is not giving a damn. This is giving zero fucks.

This is unapologetic, shameless. This is being a disappointment to your mom.

(Honestly, though, I wanted to say onions and cats.)

TinyCoffeeCigsIf your poetry/writing were a person who would it be? And why? Rihanna. I’m not a fan of her music, but am of her media personality. Raw, honest, in-your-face. She embodies taking power and control of herself, her body, her life, despite falling short sometimes, which makes her more human. A lot of people are uncomfortable with her, but really it’s their problem and RiRi don’t currrr $$$. Kim Kardashian is a close 2nd.

I have seen the future of 21st century writing and its name is… Tumblr user teenbile. Writer’s envy.

What is next for you? Stressing over my fucking visa.

Say something outrageous. Free education and health care! *gasp*

Tell us a secret. Everyday is still a struggle with myself. If my Facebook were honest:

SAZFB

You and I will both die. Your existence and my existence are inherently pointless, unremarkable, meant-to-be forgotten. But while we’re here, we decide how to tell the story, so make it god damn interesting. (Also, mom, I stole your shirt.)


More Sade

Sade Andria Zabala is a 24-year-old Filipina surfer sometimes living in Denmark. She is the author of poetry book “Coffee and Cigarettes” and her work has appeared on The Chapess Zine, Berlin Art-parasites, The Thought Catalog, The Rising Phoenix Review, Hooligan Magazine, Grammarly, and more.

Her second book, “War Songs”, will be released this September 18, 2015. In her spare time she likes to eat words and drink sunlight. Find her at surfandwrite.tumblr.com

Linkage

Facebook
Instagram
Etsy
Coffee and Cigarettes (Lulu)
Coffee and Cigarettes (Amazon)

1 2


Leave a Reply

