Does not play well with others

By Madeline Harvey

You can ask my best mate, Zoe Spencer, and she’ll tell you, I don’t play well with others. So, it’s a bit of a head scratcher as to why I joined the Pankhearst project. Don’t get me wrong, I’m having a wonderful time writing and exchanging stories and feedback, but I know I haven’t been as…what’s the word? Oh! Interactive as I should be.

I’m a bit of a shy bird. Easily ruffled. And I flutter away without the slightest of provocation.

Again, why on earth would I join a collective group of writers who have far more knowledge and experience than I do? Not sure, really.

Here’s how it happened:

My sister knows the always lovely Evangeline Jennings because they were at school together for a couple of years and, because we all do the whole chat thing from time to time, I heard about a group of independent writers working together to create something amazing. Gritty, in your face literature with a general theme of wise, wonderful and wicked women.

Sold.

You see, when I was at school, I was known for the dirty poems I’d write on the wall of the loo. Not really. That’s a plain faced lie, but I did write a few short stories that my mum and my bestie praised me over, though both were horrified such ideas came from my dainty little mind. It wasn’t until I broke my leg and spent a couple weeks in hospital that I started writing anything of substance, which means longer than a couple pages and had any sort of character development.

But these were written in a state of utter solitude.

So, how does one such as me, vehemently opposed to sharing her toys and playing with others find herself smack dab in the middle of a writing collective with a bundle of other girls?

Bribery.

The leader of the project, and her trusty sidekick, tempted with chocolate, wine, cheese, and a bit of ego stroking as well. Their sweet words convinced me it was going to be a painless endeavour with oodles of support and a lot of heavy petting.

They lied. I want a refund.

Still, I think I might just stick it out until the end. After all, I’ve fallen in love with a few of the writers and think this will give me the experience I need to finally finish my second novel. Here’s to hoping.

Leave a Reply

